Choosing a campsite in Royan

Exploring Royan

Located a stone’s throw away from the Gironde estuary, Royan is one of the most beautiful seaside resorts on the French Atlantic coast. Royan seduces not only with its magnificent beaches, but also with its splendid architecture. A mix between modern post-war buildings and Belle Époque residences, Royan’s architectural style is particularly charming. Royan, the seaside resort of Charente-Maritime is also a city of art and history It is an ideal destination for both adventurers and beach enthusiasts as well as people staying or planning on staying at 4-star Les Chèvrefeuilles Campsite.

Discover what Royan has to offer by watching this video

Seaside resorts in Royan

The beaches of Pontaillac, Grande-Conche, Chay, Foncillon and Le Pigeonnier enhance the beauty of Royan. These fine sandy beaches offer a pleasant setting for your dream holiday. For swimming and water sports enthusiasts, the beaches of the Charente-Maritime seaside resort will be sure to meet your expectations. Located on the western portion of the seaside resort, Pontaillac beach is a great surf spot. Pontaillac beach is lively all day long. It is home to Royan Casino and a few restaurants in the surrounding area.

Grande-Conche beach is 2 kilometres long. It is the biggest and most popular beach in the Charente-Maritime seaside resort. The beach’s striped tents add a unique charm. Although it is the largest beach in Royan, security posts are positioned along the beach for visitor safety. During the summer, the beach is home to many children’s clubs. If you’re looking to relax on the fine sandy beaches of Royan in an intimate setting, then take to the beaches of Le Pigeonnier, Le Chay and Foncillon.

Tourist attractions to explore

Royan is above all a historic city with an extraordinary artistic mark. The Royan seaside resort in Charente-Maritime is home to buildings that symbolise the reconstruction of the city after the Second World War. Among these:

  • Notre Dame Church
  • The indoor market
  • The Palais des congrès
  • The waterfront
  • The auditorium

Built in reinforced concrete, the Notre Dame de Royan church has an exceptional architectural style. A visit not to be missed. The indoor market covered is the shape of a scallop. The venue is really quite impressive and attracts the curiosity of many tourists. You will also be amazed by the authenticity and splendour of the waterfront, the Palais des congrès and the Royan auditorium. In addition, discover the city’s history by visiting the Royan Museum. A stopover at the marina during your stay in Royan will allow you to fully enjoy this exceptional Charente-Maritime seaside resort

Activities not to be missed in Royan

While Royan’s beaches are largely part of the town’s identity, they are not the only attraction. A wide range of recreational and sporting activities are on offer for you to try out. Royan is a full of fun and entertaining opportunities. Your children will love:

  • Horse riding
  • Cycling on the Vélodyssée cycle path
  • Hot air balloon flights
  • Jet Ski outings
  • Treasure hunts
  • Trot Rider excursions
  • Royan’s ferris wheel…

The bravest visitors can also book a parachute jump at the Royan aerodrome. A visit to the Palmyre zoological park is home to a variety of animal species. The zoo has more than 1,600 animals on its 18-hectare grounds. Nature lovers can explore the Parc de l’Estuaire de Charente-Maritime, a few kilometers to the south of Royan. Walks on shaded trails, fun exhibitions and hikes in the forest are just some of the activities that await you in this nature park.

Royan: a town for gastronomic discovery

Gastronomy is at the heart of the attractions of this seaside resort in Charente-Maritime. You’ll realise this soon enough when you see the number and choice of restaurants the city offers. While in Royan, why not give in to to the culinary talents of the city’s top chefs. Their traditional savoir-faire will take you on a gastronomic journey through the specialities of the Charente-Maritime. The restaurants in the square offer the best seafood dishes. During your gastronomic tourist trip, you’ll have the chance to explore the region’s gastronomic wealth. The far or farci poitevin (a type of pâté), the broyé du Poitou (a sort of biscuit), and mouclade (moule-based dish) are a few of the dishes that you shouldn’t think about twice before ordering.

Events in Royan that you shouldn’t miss

Royan is unique destination. It offers fun tourist experiences that will make your stay unforgettable. Every year, Royan hosts events that attract both adults and children. Finally awaken the adventurous instinct that you knew you always had and get involved in some of the following exciting events:

  • Architecture Month
  • The Royan Côte de Beauté marathon
  • The regional tennis championship
  • The Jaguar rally
  • The urban sports festival
  • The gourmet hike
  • The Royan Karate Cup…

Here are some key takeaways about Royan. If you’re looking for a fun and relaxing holiday and excursions with family or friends, Les Chèvrefeuilles Campsite in Royan is the right destination for you. As well as the fine sandy beaches of the Charente-Maritime seaside resort, Royan has countless attractions. Young and old alike are bound to find something that will leave long-lasting memories.

Choisir un camping à Royan

À la découverte de Royan

Située à quelques encablures de l’estuaire de Gironde, Royan est l’une des plus belles stations balnéaires de la côte Atlantique française. Royan séduit non seulement par ses magnifiques plages, mais aussi par l’architecture de la ville. Entre édifices modernes d’après-guerre et demeures Belle Époque, le style architectural de Royan est d’un charme particulier. Royan, la station balnéaire de la Charente-Maritime est aussi une ville d’art et d’histoire. Cela fait d’elle une destination idéale pour les aventuriers, les amateurs de baignades et les personnes séjournant ou souhaitant séjourner au camping 4 étoiles Les Chèvrefeuilles.

Les stations balnéaires de Royan

Les plages de Pontaillac, de la Grande-Conche, du Chay, de Foncillon et du Pigeonnier assurent la beauté de la ville de Royan. Ces plages de sable fin déclinent un cadre agréable pour des vacances de rêve. Pour les amoureux de baignades et d’activités nautiques, les plages de la station balnéaire de Charente-Maritime répondront à vos attentes. Située à l’ouest de la station balnéaire, la plage de Pontaillac est un véritable spot de surf. Accueillant le Casino de Royan et quelques restaurants aux alentours, la plage de Pontaillac reste animée toute la journée.

La plage de la Grande-Conche est longue de 2 kilomètres. Elle est la plus grande plage de la station balnéaire de Charente-Maritime et la plus riche en attraction. Les tentes raillées de la plage lui offrent un charme unique. Malgré qu’elle soit la plus grande plage de Royan, des postes de surveillance sont positionnés sur toute la plage pour la sécurité des visiteurs. Pendant l’été, sont animés sur la plage de nombreux clubs pour enfants. Si vous souhaitez passer des moments de relaxation dans les sables fins de Royan en toute intimité, faites alors un tour sur les plages du Pigeonnier, du Chay et de Foncillon.

Les points d’attractions touristiques à explorer

 

 

Royan est surtout une ville historique avec une empreinte artistique hors du commun. Cette station balnéaire de la Charente-Maritime abrite des édifices symbolisant la reconstruction de la ville après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il s’agit :

  • De l’église Notre Dame ;
  • Du marché couvert ;
  • Du palais des congrès ;
  • Du front de mer ;
  • De l’auditorium.

Construite en béton armé, l’église Notre Dame de Royan est d’un style architectural exceptionnel. La visite en vaut vraiment le coup. Le marché couvert se présente en forme de coquille de Saint-Jacques. Il est assez impressionnant et attire la curiosité des touristes. Vous serez également émerveillé par l’authenticité et la splendeur du front de mer, du palais des congrès et de l’auditorium de Royan. De plus, allez à la découverte de l’histoire de la ville en visitant le Musée de Royan. Une escale au port de plaisance lors de votre séjour à Royan vous fera pleinement profiter de la station balnéaire de Charente-Maritime.

Les activités à ne pas manquer à Royan

Si les plages de Royan consacrent son identité, elles ne constituent pas la seule attraction de la ville. Vous avez la possibilité de pratiquer une diversité d’activités ludiques et sportives. Royan est une source de divertissements et l’animation de la ville est d’autant plus ludique. Vos enfants seront égaillés par :

  • Les randonnées à cheval ;
  • Les balades à vélo sur la piste cyclable de la Vélodyssée ;
  • Les vols en Montgolfière ;
  • Les randonnées Jet Ski ;
  • Les jeux de piste ;
  • Les virées en Trot Rider ;
  • La grande roue de Royan…

Les plus courageux pourront également effectuer des sauts en parachute sur l’aérodrome de Royan. La visite du Parc zoologique de la Palmyre vous permettra de découvrir une diversité d’espèces animales. Le zoo abrite plus de 1600 animaux sur une superficie de 18 hectares. Les amoureux de la nature pourront découvrir à quelques kilomètres au sud de Royan le Parc de l’Estuaire de Charente-Maritime. Les balades sur des pistes ombragées, expositions ludiques et randonnées dans la forêt sont autant d’activités qui vous attendent dans le parc.

 

 

Royan : un lieu de découverte gastronomique

La gastronomie est au cœur des attractions de cette station balnéaire en Charente-Maritime. En témoignent le nombre et la variété des restaurants que vous rencontrerez dans la ville. De passage à Royan, laissez-vous séduire par les talents culinaires des grands chefs cuisiniers de la ville. Leur savoir-faire traditionnel vous emportera dans un voyage gastronomique à travers les spécialités de la Charente-Maritime. Dans les restaurants de la place, vous pouvez savourer les meilleurs plateaux de fruits de mer. Vous découvrirez au cours de votre tourisme gastronomique les richesses gastronomiques de la Charente-Maritime. Le far ou farci poitevin, le broyé du Poitou, et la mouclade sont quelques-uns des plats qu’il ne faut pas hésiter à commander.

Royan : les événements à ne pas rater

Royan est une destination atypique. Elle vous propose des expériences touristiques et ludiques pour vous permettre de passer un excellent séjour. Royan organise des événements autour desquels se réunissent chaque année petits et grands. Réveillez l’instinct d’aventurier qui sommeille en vous en participant aux événements que sont :

  • Le mois de l’architecture ;
  • Le marathon Royan Côte de Beauté ;
  • Le championnat régional de tennis ;
  • Le rassemblement Jaguar ;
  • Le festival des sports urbains ;
  • La randonnée gourmande ;
  • La coupe de Royan de Karaté…

Voici ce qu’il faut retenir sur Royan. Pour des vacances réussies ou des excursions en famille ou entre amis, le Camping Les Chèvrefeuilles à Royan est la destination qui vous convient. En plus des plages de sables fins de la station balnéaire de la Charente-Maritime, la ville est une suite d’attractions. Petits et grands trouveront l’attraction qui leur fera passer un moment inoubliable.